What’s the best decision you made in your 20’s?

Children in Pushkar, January 2006

Children in Pushkar, January 2006

When I was 26 years old I decided to quit my wonderful job in a great non-profit organization in the US. It was a very difficult decision because my life there was really comfortable. But somehow I was not feeling complete. I had the typical 9am to 5pm job, Monday to Friday, monthly paycheck, etc.. It was so good, but very soon I started to feel trapped. Even though the work had a very interesting and meaningful objective, I was not fully satisfied. I was spending too much time seating, working with a computer. I was young but feeling old. I wanted freedom. I wanted to see the world, and more than anything: I wanted to discover who I was. I wanted to face my fears, my desires, I wanted to live. That year I decided I was an artist and I went on a journey to India with my camera to take photos and discover new territories, I went to embrace the unexpected. It was crazy. It was difficult. It was amazing. Now, almost ten years later I can say that it was the best decision I could have taken. I learned so much. I met so many inspiring people. I was opening to the complexity of the world. India was a challenging place, so appealing and so alive.

This is one of my favorite photos of that journey. Three kids in Pushkar staring at me and my camera. Eyes wide open.

After four months traveling I had a good collection of photos (Mostly analogue, it was 2006, no Instagram yet, I was enjoying a lot with my Reflex!). Recently I have uploaded many of them to an online platform where they can be ordered as prints: http://www.theshedgallery.com/exhibitor/beatriz-chamussy#portfolio

Leave a Reply

